Members - Banks - Honorary Members


Caribbean Centre for Money and Finance - TRINIDAD & TOBAGO

Officer-in-Charge: Dr. Dave Seerattan
The University of the West Indies
St Augustine Campus, TRINIDAD & TOBAGO
Tel: (868) 645 1174, 224 3727
Fax: (868) 645 6017
E-Mail: or

The Centre evolved out of the previous Regional Programme of Monetary Studies (RPMS), a programme which was established in 1968 as a partnership between the Central Banks of CARICOM and the Universities of the West Indies and Guyana. In 1995, the activities of this institution was consolidated and centralised as the Caribbean Centre for Monetary Studies. The CCMS built on the solid research foundation of the old RPMS, while enhancing efforts in the area of central bank training.

In May 2008 the Governors of Caribbean central banks that contribute to the funding of the Caribbean Centre for Monetary Studies expanded the Centre’s mandate to include issues in finance, banking and investments. The Centre was renamed and this 40-year old institution was renamed the Caribbean Centre for Money and Finance (CCMF) in recognition of it expanded mandate and the inclusion of new funding principals from private financial institutions in the Caribbean.

The new CCMF aimed to facilitate high quality research in monetary, financial and other issues relevant to the central banks and private enterprises in the regional financial sector. The Centre is once again being restructured to better meet the needs of its major stakeholders. The new Centre will build on the solid research foundation of its past while enhancing efforts in the area of financial stability and serving as the secretariat for the CARICOM Group of Central Bank Governors. This will not only place the CCMF at the centre of the research on monetary, financial and other issues of relevance to central banks and the wider region but would allow it to play a more central role in policy issues in the monetary and financial arena.

Caribbean Community Secretariat (CARICOM) - GUYANA

Secretary General: H.E Irwin LaRocque
CAB Rep: Mrs. Enid Bissember
Deputy Programme Manager, Economic Policy
P.O. Box 10827, Turkeyen,
Greater Georgetown, GUYANA
Tel: (592) 222 0001/75,
Fax: (592) 222 0171

In 1972, Commonwealth Caribbean leaders at the 7th Heads of Government Conference decided to transform the Caribbean Free Trade Association (CARIFTA) into a Common Market and establish the Caribbean Community, of
which the Common Market would be an integral part. The signing of the Treaty establishing the Caribbean Community, Chaguaramas, 4th July 1973, was a defining moment in the history of the Commonwealth Caribbean. Although a free-trade area had been established, CARIFTA did not provide for the free movement of labour and capital, or the coordination of agricultural, industrial and foreign policies. The Community has the following objectives:

  1. improved standards of living and work; 
  2. full employment of labour and other factors of production; 
  3. accelerated, coordinated and sustained economic development and convergence;
  4. expansion of trade and economic relations with third States; 
  5. enhanced levels of international competitiveness;
  6. organisation for increased production and productivity;
  7. the achievement of a greater measure of economic leverage and effectiveness of Member States in dealing with 3rd States, groups of States and entities of any description; 
  8. enhanced co-ordination of Member States' foreign economic policies; and
  9. enhanced functional cooperation.

Caribbean Development Bank (CDB) - BARBADOS

President: Dr. Warren Smith
Division Chief, Internal Audit Unit and Evaluation &
Oversight Division
PO Box 408, Wildey, St. Michael, BARBADOS
Tel. (246)431-1600,
Fax: (246)426-7269

The Caribbean Development Bank (CDB) is a regional financial institution which was established by an Agreement signed on October 18, 1969, in Kingston, Jamaica, and which entered into force on January 26, 1970. The Bank came into existence for the purpose of contributing to the harmonious economic growth and development of its member countries in the Caribbean and to promote economic cooperation and integration among them, having special and urgent regard to the needs of its less developed members in the region. Its core functions include: assisting the borrowing member countries (BMCs) to optimise the use of their resources, to develop their economies and to expand production and trade; promoting private and public investment, facilitating business activity and expansion; mobilising financial resources from both within and outside the region for development; providing technical assistance to its regional borrowing members; supporting regional and local financial institutions and a regional market for credit and savings and supporting and stimulating the development of capital markets in the region. Its Mission states “CDB intends to be the leading catalyst for development resources into the Region, working in an efficient, responsive and collaborative manner with its BMC's and other development partners towards the systematic reduction of poverty in its BMCs through social and economic development.” The Bank had total Ordinary Capital Resources assets of US$1,640.8, million as at December 31, 2012.