Changes to the EU Tax Blacklist for Caribbean Territories

On 13th March, 2018 the EU removed Bahrain, Marshall Islands and St. Lucia from the list of non-cooperative tax jurisdictions as these jurisdictions have taken high level political commitments to address the EU’s concerns.

The Bahamas, St. Kitts and Nevis and the U.S. Virgin Islands have correspondingly been placed on the blacklist, joining Trinidad and Tobago. The EU Council has advised that the screening of these countries’ tax systems was postponed due to the impact of the 2017 hurricane season. Since no high level political commitment to address EU concerns was made, they are placed on the black list.

Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, the British Virgin Islands and Dominica have been added to the “grey list”.

Read more HERE

User Avatar

The Caribbean Association of Banks, Inc. is the representative body and recognized voice for banks and other financial institutions in the Caribbean. We seek to influence policies and legislation which impact the sector by advocating on our members’ behalf and participating in the global network of similar institutions.

Write a comment

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.